Meet the Trustees

The role of the JMEPS Trustees is to ensure that the Scheme is administered in accordance with its Trust Deed and Rules and in the interests of all its members. The Trustees meet at least five times a year, and they retain firms of professional advisers for day to day advice to ensure that the Scheme runs smoothly. A list of the Trustees' professional advisers is contained within the Plan's latest Annual Report and Accounts and can also be found on the left hand side of this page.

There are currently seven individual Trustees. Three Trustees are nominated by the Company, three are elected by members, known as ‘Member Nominated Trustees’ and one is independent.

Select a Trustee name from below to read more:

Roger is a public chartered accountant who has held a number of senior positions within the public and private sector, and has substantial pensions experience.

Roger was previously Managing Director of Capita Hartshead, one of the largest pension administration companies in the UK, and currently serves as Managing Director and Independent Trustee Director of the Shipbuilding Industries Pension Scheme. He is also currently a Non-Executive Director and Chairman of the Audit Committee for Lincolnshire West NHS Clinical Commissioning Group.

Mike was appointed as a Member Nominated Trustee in November 2010.

Mike's current role is as a Production Manager within Noble Metals, having joined JM as a Metallurgist in 1986. From 1999 to 2011 Mike was a member of the JMEPS Consultative Committee, during which time he held various roles including that of Secretary and ultimately Chairman. That experience provided Mike with a good grounding in pension matters which has proved invaluable in helping him to fulfil his current role as a Trustee. Since being appointed Mike has completed further training including the Pension Regulator’s ‘Trustee toolkit’.

Neil is Operations Director for ECT and has worked for Johnson Matthey since 1993.

Neil is new to the Trustee role and recently joined the Board in May 2014.

Mark joined Johnson Matthey in 2001 and has worked in IT and Quality Control, having originally trained as an Instrument and Control Engineer. Before becoming a Trustee, Mark served on the JMEPS Consultative Committee for four years and was Secretary for two years. Mark also served briefly as a pension fund trustee in a previous employment.

Simon Hooper started work at Johnson Matthey Brimsdown in 1977 and has been a JMEPS member since then.

He was elected as the Brimsdown representative on the JMEPS Consultative Committee approximately 15 years ago, and became chairman three years later.

When a trustee vacancy arose about 10 years ago, he was elected by the Committee as a Member Nominated Trustee. He served in this role for eight years.

He retired from Johnson Matthey two years ago and necessarily resigned as a Member Nominated Trustee. There was however a Company Nominated Pensioner Trustee position vacant which he was able to fill and he has been appointed to serve in this capacity since.

Christine worked for Johnson Matthey for nearly 40 years and was asked to join the Trustee Board, as a Company Nominated Trustee, in July 1994 and served until 2005 when she retired from the Company.  However, it was not long before Christine joined the Consultative Committee, as a pensioner member and in January 2007 she was elected as a Member Nominated Trustee.

Annette joined Johnson Matthey as Group HR Director in May 2013 and was appointed a Company Trustee Director for JMEPS on 28 November 2013.

Annette gained considerable experience as a Pension Scheme Trustee in her previous role before joining Johnson Matthey.


If you are an employee or deferred member, please enter your login details here. Click here if you are a pensioner.